DUI Charges in Englewood, Ohio
Turn to a Team That You Can Rely On
Gounaris Abboud, LPA understands that when you have been charged with a DUI, it might seem like everyone is against you and that there is little hope for your future.
Our goal is to help our clients understand that they can and should stand up for their rights and that by allowing us to defend them with both aggression and compassion, they stand a real chance for success.
For years, we have been sparing the innocent and the mistaken from excessive penalties and rewarding them with beneficial case results.
You Need to Protect Your Future Before It Is Too Late
In many Ohio DUI cases, the defendant is given only 30 days to react and challenge the accusations. In order to avoid the severe penalties that could have permanent negative effects on your wellbeing and stability, you need to contact our firm immediately.
Without proper representation, you could be sentenced with:
- High fines in the thousands
- Extensive jail time
- Insurance rate hikes
- License revocation and suspension
- Loss of employment
When we meet with our clients about their DUI cases, a frequently asked question is, What is the penalty for DUI in Ohio?
According to Ohio law, a first-time DUI conviction carries a jail sentence of three days to six months.
You could also have to pay a fine of $375 to $1,075, and there is a mandatory license suspension for one to three years.
Although there is a mandatory jail sentence of 3 days, you might be able to get a suspended jail sentence if you attend a three-day driver improvement program.
Also, the judge could sentence you to a community control program and order you to attend alcohol counseling.
The penalties for having a BAC more than twice the legal limit or having subsequent convictions are more severe.
What Is a DUI in Ohio?
Our DUI defense lawyers want you to understand the allegations you face thoroughly. That’s why we explain the law to you in great detail.
Under Ohio law, a DUI is called OVI or operating a vehicle under the influence.
The law says that you can be convicted of DUI if you operate a vehicle under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both—or if you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher.
Ohio’s DUI law indicates that having a certain percentage of drugs in your system violates the law as well.
Why Should You Retain Our Englewood DUI Defense Attorneys?
The answer is simple: we are completely committed to you and your case.
With more than 50 years of combined legal and trial experience, our team at Gounaris Abboud, LPA can confidently tackle any DUI allegations head-on.
There simply are no surprises or cases too complicated for us to handle.
With our attention to detail and thoroughness inside and outside of court, each of our attorneys has been able to maintain a perfect 10.0 “Superb” Avvo Rating and a flawless A+ from the Better Business Bureau.
Furthermore, with our uncompromising belief that you deserve to have your rights protected after being arrested for a DUI, you can feel reassured that you have a team in your corner that has an authentic concern for you and your future.
Start developing your case right now by filling out a no-cost, no-obligation online case evaluation!
Frequently Asked Questions About DUI Charges in Englewood, Ohio
How Long Do You Go to Jail If You Get Convicted of a DUI?
Everyone with DUI charges in Ohio needs to know what could happen to them if they lose their case.
In Ohio, the judge can sentence you to jail for as few as three or as many as 180 days for a first-time DUI conviction.
However, you could get a tougher sentence if you have an elevated BAC or have prior DUI convictions.
Is DUI a Felony in Ohio?
It can be. A fourth or subsequent conviction for DUI in Ohio is a felony. You could serve between 120 days and 30 months in prison.
Additionally, you could face felony charges if you are involved in a car crash while under the influence and someone sustains severe injuries or dies.
Is a Third DUI a Felony in Ohio?
No. If you get convicted of DUI for the third time, you face a minimum of 30 days in jail up to a maximum of one year.
The fines and fees are exorbitant, and you could lose your driver’s license for up to 12 years.