Automobiles make getting around much easier than in the dusty days of the horse and buggy. However, cars can also be dangerous. The average car weighs about 3,000 pounds and can travel at speeds over 100 miles per hour.
You may face criminal charges if you harm someone with your car. Vehicular assault charges could lead to potentially serious penalties and lasting consequences.
Have you been charged with vehicular assault? If so, you need a knowledgeable Ohio attorney to fight for your freedom. At Gounaris Abboud, LPA, our skilled attorneys defend clients against vehicular assault charges. Here, we’ll share more information on vehicular assault in Ohio.
What Is Vehicular Assault?
Vehicular assault involves seriously harming someone while recklessly driving a vehicle. In Ohio, vehicular assault is a felony offense that carries harsh penalties. Factors such as harming someone with a vehicle while intoxicated heighten the charge to aggravated vehicular assault.
What Are the Charges for Vehicular Assault?
Ohio vehicular assault charges come in two forms: vehicular assault and aggravated vehicular assault.
Vehicular Assault in Ohio
You may face vehicular assault charges if you:
- Seriously harm someone while recklessly operating a vehicle, or
- Seriously harm someone while speeding in a construction zone.
Reckless operation of a vehicle means that you intentionally drove in a way that you knew posed a danger to others. Examples of reckless driving might include excessive speeding or swerving in and out of traffic.
If you are convicted of vehicular assault in Ohio, you face up to 18 months in prison and a $5,000 fine. If this is a repeat offense, vehicular assault comes with a mandatory prison sentence.
Aggravated Vehicular Assault in Ohio
You may face aggravated vehicular assault charges if you:
- Seriously harm someone with a vehicle while driving under the influence, or
- Unsafely operate an aircraft and cause serious harm.
Aggravated vehicular assault sentencing can increase penalties significantly. An aggravated vehicular assault conviction includes a prison sentence of one to five years and a license suspension of up to ten years. Penalties increase for repeat offenders.
What Are the Defenses to Vehicular Assault in Ohio?
As a criminal defendant, you don’t have to prove anything. The prosecutor has the burden of proof and must prove each element of vehicular assault beyond a reasonable doubt.
If you are accused of vehicular assault or aggravated vehicular assault in Ohio, you need a skilled attorney to negotiate for a lesser charge. Your attorney’s job is to cast doubt on at least one element of the prosecutor’s case.
Here are some common defenses we use in vehicular assault cases:
- You weren’t the person who was driving,
- You weren’t driving recklessly,
- There weren’t signs indicating a construction zone,
- You didn’t cause the accident,
- No one was seriously harmed by your vehicle, or
- Your breathalyzer or blood tests were inaccurate.
When you meet with our Ohio vehicular assault attorneys, we will review your accident experience and formulate your best defense.
How Our Lawyers Can Help
You may feel stress and anxiety when you face vehicular assault charges. These worries are understandable because your freedom is on the line. Since vehicular assault is a serious charge, you should hire an experienced vehicular assault attorney.
At Gounaris Abboud, LPA, our vehicular assault defense attorneys have a combined 50 years of legal experience. We offer dedicated, compassionate legal services, working to get your charges reduced or dismissed. Contact us online or call us today at 937-222-1515 to schedule a free consultation with our knowledgeable attorneys.