In recent months, and even recent years, there has been much media attention
on gun laws all across the country. Despite the news feeds and stories
about firearms, their responsible handling, and their potential dangers,
clarity on actual gun laws is difficult to find. In order to help our
clients make sense of pertinent firearm laws and any
weapons charges they might be facing, our Dayton criminal defense attorneys at Gounaris
Abboud have compiled some of the basic information that should be known
by everyone in Ohio here in this blog. Please give it a read if you want
to know Ohio State’s gun possession, permit, and carry laws. If
you need legal representation, you are encouraged to
contact us without delay to set up your
free case evaluation as soon as possible.
Ohio Gun Laws 101
Ohio State legislation currently (circa March 2016) does not require a
permit to purchase a rifle, shotgun, or handgun, nor does it require mandatory
registration for any such firearm. Owners also do not require licensing,
and only handguns require a permit to carry openly in public. If you want
to carry a concealed weapon of any kind, either on your person or in your
automobile, you will need a specific concealed weapon permit.
In order to qualify for a concealed weapon permit, you must be:
- 21 years of age or older.
- A legal United States resident.
- Live in Ohio State for at least 45 days.
- Live in your specific Ohio State county for at least 30 days.
- Able to complete a firearm safety and training course.
- Able to prove you read a firearms safety manual provided by local sheriff
In order to be eligible for your concealed weapon permit, you must also
- A fugitive of the law.
- Convicted of or facing felony charges.
- Convicted of or facing misdemeanor charges involving violence or drugs.
- Convicted of resisting arrest within the last 10 years.
- Considered mentally dangerous.
- Subject to a current order of protection or restraint.
Ohio State will also recognize an official concealed carry license or permit
from any other state in the union.
If you are convicted of carrying a concealed firearm with no valid permit,
you could face:
- $1,000 fine
- Six months in jail
- Firearm safety retraining
If you still have questions about firearm laws in Ohio, or if need help
with a legal issue relevant to a weapon you own or control, call
937.660.8429 to connect with our Dayton weapons charges lawyers.