An adult convicted of a
DUI (driving under the influence) is certainly in for some troubled times
ahead. An underage driver convicted of a DUI may be in even more trouble,
as it places a damaging mark on their record at such an early stage of
their lives. If you are a parent of an underage driver who was arrested
for a DUI in Ohio, you need to be aware that it is up to you as their
legal guardian to take the initiative and protect their rights and driving
Penalties Underage Drivers May Face
If your underage child is convicted of a DUI, the first
penalty will most likely be a $250 fine. If your child does not have this money
under their sole control, you will be expected to pay it instead. The
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) will enact a
license suspension of two years or until your child is 18, whichever suspension will last
the longest. This can be a major burden for both you and your child as
you both must cope with their sudden loss of their freedom of mobility.
In cases where your child’s allegedly intoxicated driving causes an
accident, resulting in significant injury, property damage, or death, they may
be sentenced to 30 days in jail or a juvenile correctional facility. Such
penalties are notorious for being more detrimental to a child’s
wellbeing than constructive. You should do all you can to prevent this
occurrence. It should also be noted that an underage DUI charge is triggered
by a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of only 0.02%, not the more-commonplace 0.08%.
Working Towards an Optimal Solution
Most Ohio State judges presiding over underage DUI cases will admit that
they do not want to penalize someone so young so harshly, but they must
do their duties as representatives of the justice system. With this in
mind, our Dayton DUI attorneys from Gounaris Abboud, LPA may be able to
negotiate with the judge to secure your child an alternative sentencing
that focuses not on punishment but instead on rehabilitation and education.
We can also support you during
BMV hearings and license reinstatement procedures to make certain that the administrative
side of your underage child’s DUI case goes as smoothly as possible as well.
Want to know more about our services? Call 937.660.8429 for a
free case evaluation today.